1930s Fashion Photography

I like Vintage Fashion Photography – particularly photography from the 1930s.  Black and white photographs always seem more mysterious in a way.  They really do give ‘another time’ vibe.

I love the dress in this photo. It makes her look like a mermaid.

Elsa Schiaparelli - 1930s - Harper's Bazaar - Photo by George Hoyningen-Huene
Elsa Schiaparelli – 1930s – Harper’s Bazaar – Photo by George Hoyningen-Huene
Vogue cover, 1936. Photographed by Horst P. Horst.
Vogue cover, 1936. Photographed by Horst P. Horst.

I think that the above photo showcases one of the most amazing hats I have ever seen.

What I love about this photo are the accessories on the table.  It really transports you to a cafe or restaurant in the 30s.  I also like how the tablecloth has been matched to her scarf and also the material on the hat.

Vogue June 1936  MOLYNEUX

Vogue, June 1936.

This is such an amazing photo.  It kind of reminds me of ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’

BALINESE DIRECTOIRE  VOGUE JUNE 1936  PHOTOGRAPHY: HORST P. HORST

Balinese Directoire Vogue June 1936. Photography Horst P. Horst.

I love the peplum jacket with this dress.  But I can’t tell if that’s a headpiece or a painting on the wall.

Schiaparelli 1936 by Man Ray

Schiaparelli 1936 by Man Ray.

The fan that accompanies this dress is just amazing.  I would love to have a dress like this.  The sleeves really complement the look as well – I think they are sleeves? Or maybe gloves…I can’t really tell.

1930s fashion photography is really inspirational and interesting for me.  It really shows the change in views of fashion.

What is your favourite era of photography?

2 thoughts on “1930s Fashion Photography

Leave a comment